Home » 2016 Project » Fine, Thanks. How ’bout you?

Fine, Thanks. How ’bout you?

Did you have a nice summer?  Good, good. Oh, that sounds like fun.

 

Me?  Well, not so much. Being a semi-invalid* most of the time is bad enough, but when the temperatures soar to where it’s too hot to move anyway, well, then, nothing much gets done, despite my very best intentions.

 

Especially knitting. I couldn’t handle that this summer. Last winter, I moved from the in-law suite, where I’d been living since 2009 (no stairs, for one thing), to an upstairs bedroom (warmer and easier to clean). This was an excellent decision for the winter, but the suite has the only air conditioner, so I roasted up here this summer. I can knit year-round in air conditioning, but I couldn’t even bear to think about knitting this summer. It was so bad that I couldn’t even bring myself to post the last 3 (I think it was three; I’ll have to check) cable swatches that I didn’t manage to post last May or June.

 

Here in the Roanoke Valley, the temperatures are beautiful these days. It still feels warm & summery, but comfortable, too. I still wouldn’t be interested in starting to knit, but I know that it’s the Autumnal Equinox, and very soon I will be wishing I had my cabled sweater. So I’d better get moving and start making some progress on it.

 

First step: Announce my plans here.

Second step: Actually start doing something.

 

What do you mean, I have that backwards? I’m supposed to DO something first, then report on it? Pah!

 

* Pronounced in-VAL-id.

 

Leave a Reply

